[Skip to Content]

Broadway Leading Lady Janet Dacal Assumes the Rold of Dina in The Band's Visit North American Tour

Dec. 2, 2019

“A gorgeous and justly acclaimed show. The masterpiece of a score makes you realize that we can love and change.”
– Chris Jones, Chicago Tribune

“One of those rare shows that has captured a bit of magic.”
– Nelson Pressley, The Washington Post

“ENCHATING! JOYFUL! GORGEOUS! Leave you wanting more.”
– The Toronto Globe and Mail


(New York, NY) — Producers of the 10-time Tony® Award-winning Best Musical, THE BAND’S VISIT, announced today that Broadway star Janet Dacal will assume the principal role of Dina on tour starting in Schenectady, NY.

On Broadway, Janet starred in Hal Prince’s Prince of Broadway where she sung multiple roles including Eva Peron in Evita; Aurora in Kiss of A Spider Woman and Sydney in It's a Bird, It's A Plane, It’s Superman. She created the role of Alice in Frank Wildhorn’s Wonderland and played Nina Rosario in the Tony Award-winning Musical In the Heights, after originating the role of Carla in the Off-Broadway and Broadway productions (for which she received a Drama Desk Award). Additional favorite theatrical roles include co-starring alongside Harry Connick, Jr. in the Paper Mill Playhouse production of The Sting.

“We are honored to have Broadway star Janet Dacal join the critically acclaimed national tour of THE BAND’S VISIT. She brings a new warmth and honesty to the part that we are excited for audiences to experience,” says Tony award-winning director, David Cromer.

She will debut alongside Israeli star of stage and screen Sasson Gabay, who plays Tewfiq, a role he created in the 2007 film of The Band’s Visit and most recently played on Broadway, and has performed on tour since the tour opened in June 2019.

The cast will also include Jennifer Apple as “Anna,” Mike Cefalo as “Telephone Guy,” Adam Gabay as “Papi,” Marc Ginsburg as “Sammy,” Kendal Hartse as “Iris,” Joe Joseph as “Haled,” Sara Kapner as “Julia,” Pomme Koch as “Itzik,” Ronnie Malley as “Camal,” James Rana as “Simon,” Or Schraiber as “Zelger,” and David Studwell as “Avrum,” along with Danny Burgos, Loren Lester, Nick Sacks, Hannah Shankman and Bligh Voth.

Sasson Gabay and Adam Gabay are appearing with the support of Actors' Equity Association.

THE BAND’S VISIT tells a delightfully offbeat story, set in a town that’s way off the beaten path, a band of musicians arrive lost, out of the blue. Under the spell of the desert sky, and with beautiful music perfuming the air, the band brings the town to life in unexpected and tantalizing ways. Even the briefest visit can stay with you forever.

With a Tony- and Grammy-winning score that seduces your soul and sweeps you off your feet, and featuring thrillingly talented onstage musicians, THE BAND’S VISIT rejoices in the way music makes us laugh, makes us cry, and ultimately, brings us together.

THE BAND’S VISIT world premiere opened to critical acclaim at the Atlantic Theater Company on December 8, 2016, where the sold-out, limited engagement extended twice, playing its final performance on Sunday, January 8, 2017. The show then opened at Broadway’s Ethel Barrymore Theatre (243 West 47th Street) on Thursday, November 9, 2017, and went on to play 589 regular performance and 36 previews before closing on April 7, 2019. THE BAND’S VISIT broke the all-time box office record at Broadway’s Barrymore Theatre twice.

With music and lyrics by Tony and Drama Desk Award winner David Yazbek, and a book by Tony, NY Drama Critics Circle, Lortel and Outer Critics Circle award winner Itamar Moses, THE BAND’S VISIT has won “Best Musical” awards from the Tony Awards, Drama League, New York Drama Critics’ Circle, the Outer Critics Circle, the Lucille Lortel and the Obies. It is based on the screenplay by Eran Kolirin, and is directed by Tony, Drama Desk, Lortel & Obie Award winner David Cromer.

The creative team also includes Patrick McCollum (Choreography), Scott Pask (Set Design), Sarah Laux (Costume Design), Tony Award winner Tyler Micoleau (Lighting Design), Tony Award winner Kai Harada (Sound Design), Maya Ciarrocchi (Projection Design), Charles G. LaPointe (Hair Designer), Tony Award winner Jamshied Sharifi (Orchestrations), Andrea Grody (Music Supervisor & Additional Arrangements), Dean Sharenow (Music Supervisor & Music Coordinator) and Rick Bertone (Music Director).

THE BAND’S VISIT is produced on tour by Orin Wolf, StylesFour Productions, Evamere Entertainment, Atlantic Theater Company, David F. Schwartz, Barbara Broccoli, Frederick Zollo, Grove•REG, Lassen Blume Baldwin, Thomas Steven Perakos, Marc Platt, The Shubert Organization, The Baruch/Routh/Frankel/Viertel Group, Robert Cole, DeRoy-Carr-Klausner, Federman-Moellenberg, FilmNation Entertainment, Roy Furman, FVSL Theatricals, Hendel-Karmazin, HoriPro Inc., IPN, JAM Theatricals, The John Gore Organization, Koenigsberg-Krauss, David Mirvish, James L. Nederlander, Al Nocciolino, Once Upon A Time Productions, Susan Rose and Paul Shiverick. The Executive Producers for THE BAND’S VISIT are Allan Williams and Charlie Stone.

THE BAND’S VISIT original Broadway cast album received the 2019 Grammy Award for Best Musical Theater Album. The musical is also the recipient of a 2019 Daytime Emmy Award for a performance of “Answer Me” on NBC’s “Today.”


July 26 - 31, 2022

The Band's Visit

Originally Part of the 2019-2020 Broadway In Richmond Season